What I’ve Learned…

Some of what I’ve learned this year…
I’ve learned the hard way. Sometimes you have to make mistakes in order to grow.
Sometimes these mistakes show YOU where you belong.

Sometimes getting hurt is the best thing for you, simply because it makes you reevaluate your self worth. Nine times out of Ten, it is much higher than you originally anticipated.

I’ve also learned that when I’m feeling down, the best place to go is home, because I have five people that live there to tell me that the world is wrong and that they love me and think that I can accomplish great things with my skills, personality, and affection for others.
(keep reading…more below…)

I’ve learned how to look at light so I can see it for what it is–a lovely paint to wash over the beautiful Nature that God has created for us. I’ve been enamoured with this dead field since we moved here, and I truly hope it always stays.

I’ve learned what type of photographer I want to be, and how I want the interaction with my clients to always be the focus of my business, and that the friendship that comes with working with them is real.

Sadly, I’ve also learned that there are people out there that will make anyone’s Day…
All About Them
. Weddings, Funerals, Birthdays…you name it. It’s very hard to stand idly by and bite my tongue, because it’s not my place to say anything to defend. These people can put a damper on any situation. Leave these people be. It’s the only thing you can do, besides feel sorry for them. They’ll figure it out soon enough as they start spending more time alone.
(keep reading…more below…)

I’ve learned that being open and honest will get you places. People appreciate someone that isn’t shy to share their thoughts and ideas.

I’ve also learned that it’s not what you say, but how you say it. You can certainly get your point across without being rude, brash, brassy, nasty, demeaning, or hurtful.

Saying what’s on your mind without consideration for another person’s feelings while writing it off as “just being honest” doesn’t count.
(keep reading…more below…)

As with everything, most things look better with a photo 🙂
These photos, for me, were something I’ve been drawn to doing for months. I typically head here when I want to be alone but feel safe, when I need a moment to myself to reflect and to regroup.
In our society, we’re constantly comparing ourselves to others. We’re bombarded with what “everyone else is doing” through tv shows, movies, Facebook, texting…it’s so easy to get caught up in it and get down on ourselves for not doing enough.
It’s time to relax…tap into your personal best. Don’t be so hard on yourself, and remember one of my favorite quotes that my Dad tells me:
Rome wasn’t built in a day.
This sums up perfectly what our society tries to diminish: accomplish everything fast and show it off. Compete. Run faster. Get more. Do more.
Stop–slow down. Enjoy this journey. Don’t you want to look back and see the fun you had, or were you too busy catching up and running ahead to look at the friends you made along the way? Did you forget to look for the beauty in every day moments, and remembering how having a warm breeze in your hair inspired you?
Back to basics
Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned…

Leave a Reply

