Happy Valentine’s Day! | Personal Post | Pittsburgh Photographer

Hello and Happy Valentine’s Day! Or as I like to say, Buon San Valentino! I really think this is one of my favorite holidays! I know plenty of people out there like to write it off as a “Hallmark Holiday” so that you “have” to run out and buy a card and a gift but…not me. I like to have a special day set aside solely for the purpose of telling someone you love them. Don’t have a Partner? Well, you CAN be single, of course! Use Valentine’s Day to write your best friend a heartfelt card that they will surely love receiving.
This year for my kid’s class parties we decided to make sugar cookies. Every year before that, I’d done store-bought Valentines because with them being so young, I didn’t have time to make cookies enough for two classes AND keep them from wrecking the house while my back was turned! So now we’re making up for lost time 😉
I found this incredibly easy no-refrigerate cookie recipe on Yahoo for Fast and Easy Sugar Cookies, and it’s a keeper. I doubled the recipe and had more than enough! Plus they’re just the right amount of sweet, and nice and crisp.
All you need is:
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla ext
2 tsp baking powder
3 cups flour
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Blend butter with sugar. Incorporate egg, vanilla and baking powder and beat. Incorporate flour and beat. Knead and roll out and cut into shapes that you want. Bake for 8-12 minutes for desired golden brown. DONE! Eat! Now! Orrr…you can go the extra mile and frost them…..read below!
IMG_8114 It’s easy–just take a cup or so of powdered sugar, add vanilla extract and a tablespoon or so of milk to get the consistency you want. I wanted it thicker, so I added only a little milk. You can certainly use rice or soy milk. You can also add food coloring if you want it to have some color, I used a few drops of red to make it pink. Put it into a piping bag (or a Ziploc bag and cut a tiny part of the tip!) and pipe it into any shape or letter you like. Then, sprinkle with colored sugar! VOILA! All done, and the kids can help too, as mine did, also getting approximately 1/2 the sugar into their mouth in the process…sure, don’t ask how that happened.
IMG_8121And there you have it! Adorable Valentine Cookies that anyone would love to get! Gifts are better when they come from the heart, not the store! Yes, I made that up just now! I ought to trademark that, huh? See I’m eating these cookies with coffee right now and I’m getting a little hyper 🙂 Limit yourself two, that’s all you need! And with how easy these cookies are, you might find yourself making them pretty often! Cheers! I hope you have a lovely Valentines Day with the one you love! ❤

Leave a Reply

