This Week I’ve Learned | Pittsburgh Photographer Weekly Post

And it seems like these weeks are flying by…and we’re already two weeks into summer vacation and that’s pretty crazy! Even though at the moment I’m pretty frazzled, I still have the need to write at least a little something about my week to center myself.

  • I’ve learned that writing really does help me collect my thoughts. Like meditating.
  • I’ve learned that through the notes I’ve made about pieces I want to write, that I have developed a love of writing–something I thought I dreaded doing!
  • I’ve learned that this week didn’t feel like summer at all–through the wind and rain and wearing pants and sweatshirts everyday…I’m ready for some heat.
  • I’ve learned that a storm doesn’t necessarily “ruin” your evening family walk. It was actually really nice to sit in a church doorway and wait until the storm let up, and dodge in and out of all the public covered areas until we got home. That’s one good thing about living in town.

  • I’ve learned that simple weekends are the best weekends.
  • I’ve learned that all the rain we’ve had this week has really made me miss Ireland, even more than I already did.
  • I’ve learned that I look forward to these weekends where neither of us have to work, and we can actually spend quality time–not quantity time–together as a tiny family.
  • I’ve learned that yard work isn’t that harrowing…but still.
  • I’ve learned that home grown kale is as beautiful as it is delicious.
  • I’ve learned that this thing called “Time” is priceless, precious commodity.
  • I’ve learned that I need to stop comparing myself to other people. We are all perfect and flawed in our own ways.
  • I’ve learned that probably the hardest thing about owning your own business is the inability to “shut off”.
  • I’ve learned that opening my own Etsy shoppe is pretty flippin’ exciting! So was doing the product shoot that went along with it!
  • I’ve learned that my favorite part of the day is when my boys wake up and give me long, close, sleepy snuggles as they are still waking up. Then, all hell breaks loose 🙂
  • I’ve learned that my son is more mechanically inclined than I’ll ever be. He can fix things in two seconds that I wouldn’t even try to repair! Pretty impressed.
  • I’ve learned that there’s nothing like having a flower left on the kitchen table for you.
  • I’ve learned that I’m not good at football. No big deal.
  • I’ve learned that sticking with this exercise program is a lot harder than I thought it would be. Sigh.
  • I’ve learned that a dinner eaten outside with a train going by is pretty much the most exciting thing EVER. At least to kids…Fried food is also exciting! Which brings me back to sticking with that exercise program…oops.
  • I’ve learned that when I don’t see my friends in a long time, my heart aches. At the moment, all of us are consumed with our jobs and our families–which is how we should be at the moment–we will have time for ourselves and each other in a few years–but I think we should all live on the same 50 acre plot of land and gather in the middle for s’mores and cosmopolitans whenever we felt like it. And yes, those two things totally go together!
  • I’ve learned that hanging snowflakes that my son made can make me really happy. This is his window in the early, early morning, just before the sun came up. We get up extra early over here–and happy for days off. Have a great weekend, everyone!IMG_9753_WM
Leave a Reply

