This Week I’ve Learned | Pittsburgh Photographer Weekly Post

Even though I’m exhausted from shooting an awesome event (photos to come!)…which entailed me climbing about six flights of stairs numerous times…I’m still here! I’m typing this with my eyes still opening, but awake! This week I’ve learned…

  • I’ve learned that I still have a deep love for the city. Sometimes I think I’m a country girl, and then I get in that concrete and somehow I feel at home. I know I complain about parking but…eh, no big deal!
  • I’ve learned that shooting at sundown against city lights is stunning!
  • I’ve learned that I can’t say no to crab cakes. Ever.
  • I’ve learned that I apparently make awesome biscotti…people don’t even believe they are home made–super flattering!
  • I’ve learned that when little boys are doing something they knooow they aren’t supposed to be doing, they can move very quickly!
  • I’ve learned that it must have been a hard day at work for my husband when he comes home and actually has a glass of…wine.
  • I’ve learned that I’m still a child–I’m so excited that one of my brides for having a s’mores bar AND a cake bar at her wedding…she is too cute! We sugar addicts have to stick together!
  • I’ve learned that little boys don’t care if you didn’t bring their bathing suits…they will swim in the lake fully clothed, regardless.
  • I’ve learned that Redheads are drawn to each other. My two little GingerNuts attracted another little Redhead boy as soon as we arrived–they made friends quickly and they were all playing together. ADORABLE!
  • I’ve learned that it’s super encouraging to hear that working out has been paying off.
  • I’ve learned that nobody can make stuffed artichokes like me. Nobody!
  • I’ve learned that hanging out with a girlfriend I’ve known since third grade can be one of the best times I have! We went from playing in the back yard to playing in an upscale courtyard overlooking the gorgeous lights of the city. We’ve come a long way, baby! Maybe being an adult IS fun after all!
  • I’ve learned not to chase people. If you want me, you know where I am.
  • I’ve learned that the grass is greenest where you water it.
  • I’ve learned that I really love re-watching Disney movies with my sons, it brings back so many memories I had watching them when I was little!
  • I’ve learned that our walks through town has grown to be one of my favorite activities.
  • I’ve learned that there is a big difference between country farmers markets and city farmers markets…wow.
  • I’ve learned that Greek people are pleasantly surprised when you say “spanikopita” correctly. They don’t like hearing “spinach pie” either. I got you, sister! Tradition.
  • I’ve learned that NO ONE can say no to the cute freckled girl selling bread. No one.
  • I’ve learned that I love the free time we spend on the couch watching Yellow Submarine, and hearing the boys sing along. Next up, Magical Mystery Tour
  • I’ve learned that homegrown lettuce is the best lettuce.
  • I’ve learned that I really love gallery style spaces…they are perfect for letting creative ideas flow, in a lofty space with whitewashed walls and loads of light, people in the surrounding areas in the same zone as your mindset, too bad they are expensive!
  • I’ve learned that when people recognize me JUST by my name alone, it makes my heart flutter! What a compliment!
  • I’ve learned a simple trick to make my son ridiculously happy–make him pancakes.
  • I’ve learned that we go through juice in this house like crazy! Our recycle collecting guys must think we’re nuts.
  • I’ve learned that every post really IS better with a photo–I get a lot of clicks on these! Still life shots can be really cool when you find neat settings!So to close this post, I’ll leave you with a still life I took at Pittsburgh’s Contemporary Craft Museum! This is a really cool place with crazy interesting pieces that are all handmade. Definitely worth a visit! You can also walk right across the street to the 21st Street Coffee and Tea, which a photo appeared in a post a few weeks ago. All located in Pittsburgh’s Strip District.

Craft Museum Still Life, Pittsburgh Craft Museum, bottle still life

Leave a Reply

